Caoine

Is Gaelic for keening.  I learned about this practice in a way I wish had not come to pass.

A recent heartbreak, involving the death of a very young child, in a community I frequent online has taken a hold of me.  These past few days I find myself in the grip of sorrow all too often.  I can only say that I have been forever altered by this little ones death in a way I never thought possible.  As a mother of a toddler I'm heartbroken and shaken to my very center.

I wish I could "fill the room" as the parents requested.  Since I cannot I will hold a small memorial and "caoine" for the child during the time of viewing – it is the least I can do to honor them all.

3 thoughts on “Caoine

  1. tasha says:

    maybe the box will come today and cheer you up. naomi was screaming and wiggling at the post office so i forgot to insure and delivery confim. hope it gets there safe. have a good weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

