In a Bad Place

I try to keep from making this blog my place to vent and it hasn't really worked out that way – today isn't any different. 

My aunt (paternal) is dying.  She has been in declining health for a while and this last two weeks her health has taken a turn for the worse.  Our situation at best is complicated.  Our car cannot make the trip, our finances are such (and those we could borrow from) are too tight to purchase train or plane tickets.  I have to hope that she will hang on until I can have Geo come back this weekend from Illinois to get me and Georgie.

My folks were able to go (they have a pick-up truck), so I feel good about that at least.  They've been helping around her house, keeping her company when she wants it, etc.  I'm sure my dad is having a hard time dealing with it, especially since his brother passed away from cancer as well about five years ago.  They've been keeping me updated to let me know how she's doing and she has been getting weaker by the day.

We also have dogs that need to come down with us as well… another big problem.  I've got a call into my brother to see if he would be able to put us up for a couple of nights.  I'm not sure if that will be a problem or not since I imagine their house is in a bit of an uproar right now because they're in the midst of packing for a move into their new home.  I know, why not board them or have a pet-sitter come by… remember those finances?  Yeah, I know… nothing like getting a promotion and still not having any loose change.  Geesh.

My stomach just is twisting over the whole shebang.  I wish we would be better at saving so when things happen it's not a big deal except to pick-up and go.  I hate it.

Instead I'm home alone with the animals and Georgie.  Feeling frustrated while remembering how my aunt used to always teach me something new when I visited her like crocheting, cooking/baking, or gardening.  Or how she would tell me stories about my gramma and papa or other members of the family while making me a bologna roll-up with miracle whip.  She has always treated everyone with kindness and love no matter what… she even took me in for a bit when my mom kicked me out.  She let me stay until I could get moved into my own apartment and never once questioned me or made me feel bad for anything.  That's just how she is to everyone.  My aunt has a huge heart.  I know I'm a better person for being part of her life.

3 thoughts on “In a Bad Place

  1. aundrea says:

    Sweety, I am so sorry about your Aunt. She sounds like a wonderful lady.
    I hope everything comes together quickly so you can get there to be with her.
    Take care of yourself.

  2. babybug says:

    she sounds like a really nice woman. i’m sure she knows how much you care about her. maybe you could give her a call, tell her how much you love her and give her a “hug” over the phone.
    p.s. give georgie a tickle from babybug šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

