How Do You …

 

Take care of the fabrics you find, thrift, buy? Do you wash/iron/fold them all before using them for your projects? Or do you wait?I'm asking because the fabric I get from the thrift stores always gets washed and folded until I decide to use it. None of it is ironed. The fabric I buy from a store always seems to make it to storage with out any intervention.
The fabric I recently purchased from a yard sale desperately needs to be washed… I know it does, but for some reason I haven't done it yet. It's daunting. I'm afraid to do it. Maybe because I'm worried I'll ruin it in some way.
What do you usually wash your fabrics in? Do you always dry them in a dryer or have you been known to hang them outside? Please… I'm looking for advise, motivation, or stories to help me procrastinate.

5 thoughts on “How Do You …

  1. Angela says:

    Pretty reds! I always wash mine in regular detergent the day I buy them and I try to get them out of the dryer as soon as they’re done to prevent wrinkling. I do not iron the stuff…until I need it for a project.

  2. Ali says:

    If it came from a charity shop or car boot sale it goes in the washing machine as soon as I get through the door. I don’t iron anything until I am using it.
    I wish I was one of those folks whose fabrics were all ironed and folded to the same dimensions, but I am so not!

  3. aundrea says:

    Everything gets washed before it goes in the closet, usually not right away though. It has a little resting period in the wash room/garage until I get to it.
    I use All Free with a little vinegar to take out any smells. Anything that seems too delicate to dry gets hung up and everything else gets thrown in the dryer on a low setting.
    And I too, am a believer in the iron when needed way of living.:)

  4. capello says:

    I wash it and dry it immediately, then toss it in a bucket.
    Then when I want to use it, I rewash and redry it and then iron it.
    Because I’m frivolous like that.

  5. Georgia says:

    I’m like Angela. I always wash with regular detergent when I get them home, grab them straight out of the dryer and get them folded before they wrinkle. I don’t iron until I’m ready to use them.
    Same goes for store-bought fabric!

Leave a Reply

