She Art Canvas and Comfort Zone

My latest workshop, as I mentioned before here, is with Christy Tomlinson. I wanted to learn her personal process of creating backgrounds for her canvas pieces.  A lot of this workshop is her recreating her process for us and having us go at it.  You'll notice much of our work is similar to hers at this point. My intention once this workshop is over is to use the techniques I've learned from her and add my spin to it to create backgrounds for whatever work I decide to do.  I love collage/assemblage artwork, so the mixed media will work really well.  Again, I'd like to apologize for the funky picture quality and bad color quality.  I'm working on getting a new camera and set-up to take better photos. 

She Recognizes Her Talents {She Recognizes Her Talents}

I'll be the first to admit that I'm big on comfort. My comfort zone is pretty small and when I find something that I like or that works for me I keep it that way. This year has been a big push for me to get out of that mindset and look beyond the limits I've set. A limitation I had set for myself, without actually realizing I was doing it, had been to not allow myself to be creative.

I used to be some one that would look at a piece of artwork or a craft that I enjoyed and I would want to learn the process and recreate it.  I would work with it until I found my own voice and I loved it.  Of course the more you create the more you want to share what you create and I did.  I joined interest groups on-line and locally, signed-up and attended workshops/classes, and read up on the subject.  But as I'm sure you know, the more people I came across the more criticism I heard and the less praise. It was disheartening because at the time I did not understand the difference between constructive criticism and regular criticism.  Shortly thereafter my confidence was gone and I stopped creating anything that didn't have some utility.

This year I decided to be the girl I remember before the criticism.  I reminded her it's okay because criticism is an opportunity, an opportunity to learn about other people and an opportunity to grow.  So that girl, who was confident and excited about the process of creating with her hands, and I started signing-up for online workshops and got busy getting messy again.  I've been having a blast ever since!

3 thoughts on “She Art Canvas and Comfort Zone

  1. Dawn C. says:

    Emily, I wish you were too! How is the workshop going that you are taking? Christy has this workshop coming back in April if you still want to take it. 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    Dawn, I was stuck in the same spot: everything had to have a utility.
    Glad you found your way out.
    Sounds like a good workshop, I will check it out.
    –Rebecca

Leave a Reply

