How Do You Start Blogging Again?

Hello Again!

I suppose you just start.  It has been quite a long time – nearly a year.  I’m not sure why I stopped.  At the time it seemed like too much going on and not enough time or organization to keep up a little blog.

I really liked using my blog to jot down things I would like to remember or keep track of a project I was currently working on.  I’d like to do that again.  I’m surprised I haven’t tried coming back sooner with all that has been going on this year – I would have loved to make note of it somewhere, oh well.  There is always today!

While I was away from the blog we lost the lease to rent the cute place on Kenston Court.  Our landlords decided to rent it to their expecting daughter instead.  It’s funny how many times I’ve moved, yet each time it is just as difficult.  We stayed in the same town, yet the smaller apartment we ended up renting never became home – I left most of our things packed.  I really disliked it a lot.  Then we bought a business in Minnesota.  I know – insane.  For a couple of months in the beginning of summer this year I ran the businesses operations out of that little apartment in Illinois while my husband lived and worked the business in Minnesota.

As some of you may appreciate, sometimes starting a new business makes things a bit tight after leaving a salaried position.  Instead of moving the boys and myself to Minnesota with my husband after our lease was up at the end of summer, we came up with the idea of moving back to the house we have in Michigan where my folks are living.  Now I’m running our new business from my home office (aka my bedroom) in Michigan while my husband continues to live and work the new business in Minnesota…ha – super insane.

My folks have had a super rough year as well.  My father was diagnosed with cancer – Metastatic Adenocarcinoma of uknown primary.  Later after further testing it is believed to have originated in his lung.  Our lives changed so much after finding out Dad was sick.  It is a horrible and scary thing to find out your father has cancer after knowing your Aunt and Uncle had cancer and died because of it.  Thankfully after his chemo the cancer was totally gone.  Dad is now in remission while going through follow-up chemo sessions, he has three more to go.  He also had a port put in to help with the follow-up sessions and it all went wrong, so he’s had it removed and is working on getting healthy again while it heals.

My mom has graciously been taking care of us all – I’m sure she’s almost at her limit.  I cannot tell you what a blessing it has been to have her help with the boys while I’m trying to work the business during the day.  Georgie going to school during the day has helped and soon Gary will be starting preschool, so for at least three days a week in the morning we’ll all get a break.  It’s a strange feeling to move back in with your folks at an older age.  Sure we’ve lived together before – it just seems a bit different now.  I know we all love each other to pieces all the while wishing for things to get back the way they were soon…lol.

I’m sure I’ve left things out or haven’t explained things very well.  I just wanted to get started… you know, the first step.

2 thoughts on “How Do You Start Blogging Again?

    • dawnchrist says:

      Thanks, Gwen. Yes, Dad found out early this year. He had a weird spot on his neck that seemed to be an infected cyst – it turned out to be cancer. He is doing very well now that they have removed his port. He has two more follow-up chemo sessions and should be done for good. I wouldn’t say I’m strong, I cry – a lot especially while juggling ;p

Leave a Reply

